CD and VINYL OUT NOW with ''Lyric poster''.
Release date: February 19, 2013

A simple guitar arpeggio and a distant, yet eager vocal kicks off Sun Songs, the much-anticipated solo effort of former Wild Sweet Orange front man Preston Lovinggood.  A product four years in the making and under heavy mentoring by Communicating Vessels founder Jeffrey Cain, Lovinggood finds himself exploring uncharted sonic territory with songs of desolation, longing, paranoia, and hope.

The entire record is beautifully lo-fi with bits of punk rock (“Natural”), acoustic ska riffs , and new wave (“Somewhere Along The Way”), but distinctly 21st century. 

Taylor Hollingsworth, known for his work in Dead Fingers and Conor Oberst and The Mystic Valley Band, helmed the production and recording. Hollingsworth’s contribution to Sun Songs is undeniable with bluesy electric riffs, slide guitar, well-placed feedback, and creaky, sporadic drums.  “Give It Your Name,” a co-write between Lovinggood and Hollingsworth, brings back Lovinggood’s familiar and undeniable yell. Not the predicable sequel to Lovinggood's past work, Sun Songs is a perfect left turn.

01 - Sun Song
02 - Natural 
03 - Papa''s in the Movies 
04 - Somewhere Along The Way 
05 - Little Gods 
06 - Further 
07 - Enter Mental 
08 - Give It Your Name 
09 - Terminator 
10 - Helicopter 
11 - Shipwrecked 
12 - Sun Songs

Price includes domestic shipping.
Also on

Product Options

Price: from $15.00

Price includes shipping in the continental United States.
Loading Updating cart...